oompas.001

Google emulates the creepy Willy Wonka. And its a good thing.

Google Identifies Hiring Prospects Via Search Queries
[Via Daring Fireball]

Max Rosett:

I was in the midst of a career transition. I had spent three years working as a management consultant and then at a startup, but I wanted to become a computer engineer. I was earning a Master’s in computer science through Georgia Tech’s online program. I knew that I was slowly developing the skills that I would need in an engineering role, but I still lacked the confidence to apply for a full-time software role.

One morning, while working on a project, I Googled “python lambda function list comprehension.” The familiar blue links appeared, and I started to look for the most relevant one.

But then something unusual happened.

The search results split and folded back to reveal a box that said “You’re speaking our language. Up for a challenge?”

[More]

How would you like to receive a job interview simply because you landed the Golden Ticket from a search query? well, and solved the test problems they provided.

This is great idea, in many ways better than the online resume submission process. But I wonder how often it works out? And now it might be gamed?

Are lots of programmers entering search queries now to get Google’s attention?

But it is a way to easily screen through a lot of people without a lot of human involvement. 

Off to try.

Image: JaredFrazer