watch.001

Loving my Apple Watch

Why I’m Still Wearing My Apple Watch [Via TechCrunch]

 As TechCrunch’s resident watch nerd, I have been asked many times if I’m swapping my Omegas and Seikos and JLCs for the Apple Watch.

And I have. I honestly have. I’ve worn the Apple Watch every day since I got it and I don’t know when I’m going to strap on a mechanical next. It’s the saddest thing in the world for me to say but, after years of calling each and every smartwatch nice but not necessary, I’ve finally succumbed to this shiny bauble for a number of reasons.

[More]

I have to agree with almost all of these.

I get notified about things I want to, not by everything.

It is perfectly designed and weighted – the aluminum, which I have, simply disappears on my wrist. The steel, on the other hand is a nice bit of heft to feel at the end of an arm.

I am finding that I look at my phone much, much less. I have my Watch set up to only notify me when I get email from the VIPs I have specifically starred. So when important people email me, I know quickly. Instead of taking my phone out to see.

I have also found that Siri has improved tremendously. Sending text messages uses dictation. I speak my reply and Siri creates the text. I can then choose to send the audio directly to the text.

So far in my experience, dictation is actually more reliable than my typing and relying on autocorrect.

I’ve used the stop watch and countdown counters in the kitchen. It is so easy to get a nice little alert when the time has run out. I want a kitchen thermometer that will send me the temp and time remaining.

Love my family for getting this for me.

Image: Kārlis Dambrāns

One thought on “Loving my Apple Watch

Comments are closed.