Google demonstrates – If you do not know who the mark is at the poker table, it’s you

Poker

Google admits it may place ads on thermostats, glasses, car dashboards & refrigerators
[Via AppleInsider]

Almost any display, from the wrist to the wall, could be fair game for Google to send advertisements, the company has admitted in a filing with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, going as far as to say that even refrigerators could one day serve Google AdSense to their users.

[More]

Google’s customers are not you or me or any of the users of its free stuff. Their customers are those that pay for the ads.

Google only cares about us as far as it goes to sell ads. If they could make money with ads by having no users, they would.

So they want ads everywhere. As many as they can. They have already begun to degrade search for me. I cannot be sure that any of the words I search for will even be on the page I select.

I’ve begun to use Duck, Duck, Go more and more.

There are other models where the users and customers are pretty much the same. Apple follows that one. 

And I now pay for LinkedIn premium. I value the servie that LinkedIn provides me that I want it to survive and will pay to do that.

I might do that for Google, if that is the model it wished to follow.

But the more it falls into the ad -driven model, the more I feel like a mark.

One thought on “Google demonstrates – If you do not know who the mark is at the poker table, it’s you

Comments are closed.