1 Picture; 1000 words – warmer temperatures

What are you looking at?
[Via CEJournal]

No, this is not a long-lost Piet Mondrian canvas.

A hint: I’ve taken three charts of climate data and stitched them together to form a single panel. I haven’t done it simply to create a puzzle. I think this way of depicting the data shows a climate trend more clearly than the original three charts viewed separately.

But where did the originals come from? What do each of those little colored rectangles represent? And what specific trend is depicted here? If you think you know, share your answer in the comments section below. I don’t have any prizes to give away. But if you get it right, I’ll share your accomplishment with CEJournal readers, along with additional details.

[More]

A big hint – how many rows are there? And why are the last 2 gray?

This is a pretty nice representation of a lot of data. It works much better than a line graph. I wonder how we will feel when every square is black?