An art contest I might have had a chance in

Stick Science cartoons
[Via A Blog Around The Clock]

Stick Science cartoon winners announced – see all the finalists and winners here. My favourite, #6 did not win, unfortunately:

[More]

I can draw stick figures. I’ll have to watch out for this next year.

I have to agree that the best ones in my opinion did not win. The one above is excellent and demonstrates not only a wonderful point but also has a witty style – style not being something normally associated with stick figures.

I like that Great Granddad has a hat and cane, Granddad has a hat, Dad is bare-headed and you have a gimme-hat. Also, I love the hairstyles of the mothers and that the correct number of each generation is shown.

And the figure does an excellent job demonstrating a key point about evolution – it is not linear with each point leading to the next without any branches. It demonstrates nicely how there can be two species alive today that are related by a last common ancestor. It demonstrates the fallacy of the “If were are descended from apes why are there still apes around?”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 496 other followers

