Why I will never use Pinterest

Pinterest’s Terms of Service, Word by Terrifying Word.
[Via Dave Winer’s linkblog feed]

Pinterest’s Terms of Service, Word by Terrifying Word.

[More]

You give them full rights to everything forever, to material they can sell or transfer. They can make money but you can never charge them anything.

Their terms allow them to make money off of their users creative content without the users having any say They have already given up their rights.

I was around when the CD Database used crowdsourced approaches to get the relevant CD info an open access database. Then, once they had the database, they closed it and started charging money.

I am sick to death of companies that are geared to make money simply off of the blood, sweat and tears of its members and their creative efforts.

I don’t think I will let Pinterest have any of mine.